13.04.2011 – the wallpapering is D.O.N.E.

Oh yes. Done. Completely. And so am I with the wallpapering. Never again, because there has been another

Woe 4: lots of edges that had been happily glued down came loose and are open, and have to be glued back down.

Well, anyway, I finished it with lots more swearing, but it’s all done now and I can finally go onto the next stage, which is the painting of the remaining walls. Here are three pics, one from the hallway door, the next from the kitchen door, and finally the conservatory door. Great effect, aye?

  

I also painted some white cardboard (box the new red lamp came in) with the two tester colours, and it’s funny, really, because while I prefer the Lime Zest, the Tarragon Gold is actually closer to the lime green in the wallpaper. Nevermind, I will still go with the Lime Zest, because it’s greener. Here’s a tip: if you want to check how a colour looks on a wall, don’t paint the tester onto the wall but onto cardboard and hold it against the wall, that way you don’t have to bother with painting over any tester patches.

Left: Tarragon Glory. Right: Lemon Zest. Somehow the Lemon Zest didn’t turn out well in the photo.

 

Left: Lemon Zest. Right: Tarragon Gold.

P.S. Ich habe doch einfach die Tapete geschnitten und komplett hinter den Heizkoerper geklebt, denn es war relativ einfach, die Tapete ist recht dick und strapazierfaehig.

5 thoughts on “13.04.2011 – the wallpapering is D.O.N.E.

  1. The room is looking fantastic…and so very you. 😉 I can’t wait to see the finished product!

    And I agree that the Lemon Zest is the nicer color. Good choice. 🙂

  2. Me three! Lemon Zest was my favorite to begin with as well. Good choice NicK.

    I am still in ❤ with the wallpaper.

  3. I actually prefer the Taragon but beyond simple preference how do either of them do in the little light darkling Scot days?

    • I think the Lemon Zest is even better for the dark days, because the Tarragon has a little bit of a dullish feel to it, the yellow tint is more towards a black-yellow, if that makes sense. Also, I had a strong gold-yellow before and it would be boring if I did something similar. The Lime Zest really didn’t come out well in the photo, much nicer IRL.

Leave a comment