28.04.2011 – cutting table plans

A friend posted a link on Facebook to a funky fabric shop, and I saw oil cloth (PVC covered fabric) on there, which gave me the idea to investigate a different covering for my dining table cum cutting table, which is a Leksvik gate-legged table, which when opened measures 2 by 1.10 meters, perfect for sewing/cutting. Initially I had intended to paint it white and decoupage it, but I was never quite convinced that the decoupage/varnish would survive for long with cutting use. So what about a soft table protector, permanently fixed onto each leaf of the table, with oilcloth on top? Queue more internet searching for affordable and yet funky wipe-clean fabric. It tends to be quite expensive (and rather boring most of the time) but there are some funky designs around. I eventually went for a multi coloured stripey one to go with and against the circular motif of the wallpaper, and got the table protector cheaply off eBay.

Not sure yet how to fix the fabrics onto the table leaves, but I’m sure I’ll come up with something in good time.

I also got three tester pots of an orange, a blueish and a purple, which echo the colours in the wallpaper. I’ll colour the door panels with those.

One thought on “28.04.2011 – cutting table plans

  1. Pingback: Dining table turned cutting/crafting table « Project C365-12: being creative every day

Leave a Reply

